Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 1234567 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 90 of 288

Thread: Daihatsu Charade

  1. #61
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    sydney, canada bay, australia
    Posts
    682
    And now have to start wiring up the pdm. easy....with help from Jamie@motec

  2. #62
    Registered User peal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    3,472
    mate I love it, like the charades.

  3. #63
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    sydney, canada bay, australia
    Posts
    682
    Gay phone pic of interior coming together.


  4. #64
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    sydney, canada bay, australia
    Posts
    682
    So busy few days...

    Performed a full rewire(millspec, all black wiring) end to end with the new MoTec PDM. Started a config file(I am shit with computers) and managed to get all the lights and push to start button(kinda) working.

    Then had Steve and RSWEPN from here come round and set up the can based channels i.e fuel pumps, thermo fans, vtec, etc.

    Have to speak to MoTeC tomorrow about the PTS(logic) button setting though.

    Everyone there admits fuse boxes and relays are a waste and a thing of the past. This is so much easier, neater and fully programable.

    Estimated start date some day this week.


    Huge thanks to Steve.
    Last edited by Alex.P; 26-04-11 at 08:47 AM.

  5. #65
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sydney ,Australia
    Posts
    816
    No huge thanks to my snoring while u cunts were boring ?

    That PDM is awesome, so much neater.

  6. #66
    Opens HoonBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    9,820
    We need some pics of the setup. Some pricing to scare me would be good as well.. I'm curios as to what it costs on top of the base unit.

  7. #67
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    sydney, canada bay, australia
    Posts
    682
    PDM30 = 2800 with connectors and pins
    Wiring(i used all black tefzel 20g) 80m roll= 115 bux. I have half a meter left.
    The rest is my two and a half days to make a profesional heatsrunk motorsport loom and steve's my time to set up(4 hours).

    Will get pics tomorrow night. Cant be bothered going to the car tonight.

  8. #68
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    sydney, canada bay, australia
    Posts
    682
    Base unit?

    either pdm is all you need. There are no advanced functions, lamda or logging that you need to buy... It is just a switching device.

  9. #69
    Opens HoonBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    9,820
    Just the term I was using for the PDM itself. Wasn't sure exactly what came with it and what extra bits are needed to make them work properly.

  10. #70
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    sydney, canada bay, australia
    Posts
    682
    You need the pdm, the two connectors and 60 pins.

    Oh an wiring of your choice. I could have used 22 gaude on some circuits but just bought an 80m roll of 20 gauge. It is still a very small loom cross section wise.

  11. #71
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    sydney, canada bay, australia
    Posts
    682
    Here are some pics of the setup. Hope this is what you were after....





  12. #72
    Opens HoonBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    9,820
    Very nice looking!

  13. #73
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    sydney, canada bay, australia
    Posts
    682
    Spent a couple of hours over the last two days trying to fire up the bastard car.

    Hopefully tonight it starts and runs.

    so over it!!

  14. #74
    wot sware's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    306
    Bump.


  15. #75
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sydney ,Australia
    Posts
    816
    Double bump, updates fool

  16. #76
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    sydney, canada bay, australia
    Posts
    682

  17. #77
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    sydney, canada bay, australia
    Posts
    682
    Have to thank Steve and RSWEPN. Fuck me it took three days(4 hours to get started).

    Had a incorrect value in the comp map for the map sensor which would cut fuel.

    Talk about chasing our tails.

  18. #78
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    sydney, canada bay, australia
    Posts
    682
    Car get dropped off this arvo for tuning.

    Am so expecting to have some form of issue.

    So over this car......who wants to buy it?

  19. #79
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,247
    $5k

  20. #80
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    sydney, canada bay, australia
    Posts
    682
    Tick...

  21. #81
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    sydney, canada bay, australia
    Posts
    682
    Tock...

  22. #82
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,247
    Wtf you on about? Is the tuna done with it?
    How many kw is my 5k going to get me

  23. #83
    Chopped BigMuz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Eastern Australia
    Posts
    12,720
    That is some serious commitment you have.

    What is it for?
    Retard Honour Wall.
    Quote Originally Posted by Sloth View Post
    Rob Sloth Young did i ask for your opinion? no. i only want it for a paddock bomb. go play with traffic.
    Quote Originally Posted by Fondles View Post
    you stupid fucken imbicle.
    Quote Originally Posted by Fondles
    your are a fucken idiot of the highest level.

  24. #84
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    sydney, canada bay, australia
    Posts
    682
    That is the clock ticking before i get a call regarding some form of issue.

    Then the car can be off loaded

  25. #85
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    sydney, canada bay, australia
    Posts
    682
    So the go is......the car runs obviously I managed that part.

    Pdm is all set up, ecu is set up and the adl is set up.

    The car hit the dyno but My most awesome coil boots for the mercury cdi coils(ex ford/jag part) were not up to the task. Nippon pencil coils are going in.

    The cooling system....well is what the tuner said is a bit overboard as the car struggles to get to 60deg with the thermos on and pump running.

    Said some time was spent setting up a 3d water pump table but was not happy that the pump is nearly not runnig at all(with the fans on)

    So looks like variable fan speed and switching has been done to sort out that area.

    ummm, when i get the car back I will fit a second engine coolant temp sensor at the rad exit pipe that goes to the engine so that we can keep engine temps consistant and not have a see-saw effect.

    May see the dyno today tonight.

  26. #86
    Smoke em if you got em! LINCOLN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    875
    Cool car - lots of stuff to play with.

    Mind if I steal that switch tower idea?

  27. #87
    Down with ma homies Greg Rust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Perf
    Posts
    10,982
    Good stuff mate, Can I suggest that you have a look at the thermostat as that would indicate an issue regardless of the size and efficiency of the cooling system.
    2017 Ford Ranger XLT (Jeep Wrangler recovery vehicle)

    Quote Originally Posted by Monza View Post
    I've never considered myself the type of guy to eat arse but I am currently reviewing that policy

  28. #88
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    sydney, canada bay, australia
    Posts
    682
    Quote Originally Posted by LINCOLN View Post
    Cool car - lots of stuff to play with.

    Mind if I steal that switch tower idea?
    Thanks dude.

    Switch tower? The gearshift box?

    If so, yeah mate go ahead. Works awesome and is well within reach. Also with motec using a relay as a master switch instead of the big red key of old times all you need is lil switch on there for the emergency engine cut out.

  29. #89
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    sydney, canada bay, australia
    Posts
    682
    Quote Originally Posted by xw351 View Post
    Good stuff mate, Can I suggest that you have a look at the thermostat as that would indicate an issue regardless of the size and efficiency of the cooling system.
    Car has no thermostat mate. The complete housing had to be removed to fit some better routed rad plumbing. That is why I have the electric pump with variable speed control. The variable speed acts as the thermostat would. Does not run when cold then ramps slowly slowly until operating temp and tem maintains a set temperature(like closed loop temp control I guess)

  30. #90
    Registered User peal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    3,472
    alex.p that water pump idea is cool.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •