Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Holley terminator x (LS swap market only atm)

  1. #1
    Registered User Staples's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    94

    Holley terminator x (LS swap market only atm)

    What are everyone's thoughts?

    https://www.holley.com/products/fuel.../terminator_x/

    Ls swap market obviously where its aimed $999usd gets you ecu touch screen, wideband and loom to plug in. For $1299usd capable of drive by wire or trans control like 4l80 and 6l80. 1499usd gets you one that can handle both dbw and trans control. The sloppy mech video suggests the 4 user config outputs means its Capable of nitrous control, flex fuel, and boost control. Also self learn fuel trim is a big one for me. But looks like it can do whatever Depending on what you need/want for your average street car.

    If it existed when I built my car I would have bought one and I think I'd like to use one when I swap to a 58x engine but still early days and not sure what the feedback will be.
    Last edited by Staples; 18-03-19 at 11:04 PM.

  2. #2
    are hairy Dogsballs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    8,205
    I follow most of the holley efi stuff and this seems pretty good.
    Quote Originally Posted by 50RTD View Post
    Dave, have you uploaded the data from the carby?

  3. #3
    Opens
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    One street away from Guido's den of sin
    Posts
    24,370
    I was pretty close to buying a Holley dominator for my TT LS project but couldn't justify the $s over a Haltech elite given i had a usable loom and easy local support.

    I think if i had my time again id probably go terminator X. With the loom it seems like crazy value and will be well supported. On board 4L80 support is awesome as well.

  4. #4
    Registered User Panda I give no fuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, North side
    Posts
    1,911
    Is it programmed to starve fuel when doing donuts?
    Quote Originally Posted by E-Z View Post
    If TK told me to close my eyes and bend over, I would.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    windsor nsw
    Posts
    1,278
    I wonder what Terminator X has to say about this. Donít believe the hype maybe?

  6. #6
    25 schmeckles? Do the safety dance.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    4,627
    Looks good.
    If I hadn't recently bought HPT I'd prob be on it.

  7. #7
    arboreal bukkake briney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Blackwater, QLD
    Posts
    1,695
    Quote Originally Posted by bpm View Post
    I wonder what Terminator X has to say about this. Donít believe the hype maybe?
    ain't nothin' butta ecu
    Quote Originally Posted by Skompa View Post
    The throttle linkages jammed on the CDs in my old Triumph 2000 and stuck it at WOT.

    I didn't realise for about 15 mins as it never broke the speed limit.

  8. #8
    Purist, whats that? Jason Broadhurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    North Brisbane
    Posts
    6,716
    I've tuned two now. Fucking great easy gear.

    Not scalable, but they are not designed to be.
    Jason Broadhurst

    Someone once asked me if they could use my mower. I said "sure, so long as it doesn't leave my yard"

  9. #9
    Registered User Staples's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    94
    It's only been out a few days? Or are you referring to the dominator? From what I understand very similar programming.

  10. #10
    Purist, whats that? Jason Broadhurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    North Brisbane
    Posts
    6,716
    Oh right, yeah the one which has been around a couple of years now.
    Jason Broadhurst

    Someone once asked me if they could use my mower. I said "sure, so long as it doesn't leave my yard"

  11. #11
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    18,322
    they work ok, they are 100% not repairable, so if you burn out the wideband or melt a wire and cook it then its in the bin...
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    57
    Quote Originally Posted by 10sec rx7 View Post
    they work ok, they are 100% not repairable, so if you burn out the wideband or melt a wire and cook it then its in the bin...
    Does it matter? It's $1k us with harnesses, ecu, and sensor and screen. Imagine what a replacement ecu only is on the unlikely event it dies. It's pretty much a throw away ecu.

  13. #13
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    18,322
    throw it away or send one back and get it repaired? i know what i would rather do and thats support australian made
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  14. #14
    Registered User Staples's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    94
    What's that repair cost if its deemed user error caused the problem?

  15. #15
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    18,322
    Quote Originally Posted by Staples View Post
    What's that repair cost if its deemed user error caused the problem?
    If you blow up your Ecu? Holley is full replacement cost, most Australian ecus would be under a couple of hundred
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  16. #16
    Registered User Staples's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    94
    I only ask if its user error that makes it go kaput the costs involved because I presumed if it was defective it would be warranty? Or are you saying that outside of warranty they just bite the dust sometimes?

  17. #17
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    18,322
    well if its defective out of the box then you have to send it back to the usa and deal with them..
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  18. #18
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    57
    I think this is geared to the budget market that would normally just use a factory ecu but now they have this option if they want. I don't really see it as a problem of "they tukerjerbz".

  19. #19
    I'm not a real engineer taijohnsen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    36
    Quote Originally Posted by Staples View Post
    What's that repair cost if its deemed user error caused the problem?
    I nuked my elite 2500 with reverse polarity, told them exactly what I did and they were surprised I owned up to it.

    Was back in my car a week later repaired for $152

  20. #20
    Registered User Staples's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    94
    Cant complain about that. Ill bet you are not in WA. We would never get anything done that quickly.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •