Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Recommend me a multimeter

Recommend me a multimeter

I'm nearly getting to the point where I need to do some serious electrical work on my project car, and I recently discovered that my trusty Jaycar multimeter that I bought eons ago has been trashed by a leaking 9v battery.

So new multimeter time. What would PF recommend for a know-nothing PF'er like me doing auto electrical stuff in a shed? Obviously I'm not a professional so I'm not looking to spend mega bucks on pro gear, but I still want something that gets the job done and won't fall apart in 6 months. I'm definitely open to spending more if it makes things easier/better/more efficient. The older I get the more I appreciate things that make life easier!

I've done a bit of research online and quickly realised there are too many options, I'd basically be taking a stab in the dark. And that's still an option but maybe the PF brains trust can get me pointed in the right general direction?

Sorry if this topic has been covered already but I couldn't find anything recent.
    Norbie!

Jaycar have reasonable multimeters for not much money.

Yep just grab whatever they have that is auto ranging (movies the decimal for you) and has a temp input. $50-100 should get you a good one.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
    Tow car/camping bus: 2011 D40 Navara ST

Baby mobile: 2016 Nissan Qashqai

75 Mini Clubman club racer - DCOE powah

For ELV (extra low voltage) like much of a car, pretty much anything will do the job from $20 up.

If you are touching anything LV (e.g. 240V mains) get one with proper Cat ratings, proper internal clearances etc.

How much you wanna spend? Taking say $50 as a starting point this should be alright:
    https://www.jaycar.com.au/economy-tr...meter/p/QM1321

Backlight is often handy.
    Make sure it has auto power off - some surprisingly don't
    10A is good for the odd low (in car terms) current measurement.