1971 Valiant Charger XL - How to overcapitalise for the long term

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1971 Valiant Charger XL - How to overcapitalise for the long term

So due to popular demand, well three posts in the stamp duty thread, here is the story of a 17 rebuild that was supposed to take six weeks of an old Chugger......

Way back in 2000 I ended up working in New Zealand for a six month contract, Wellington to be exact, when I worked as a surveyor/drafter for Telstra. Don't know who I pissed off to get punished for that, but it got me a permanent position at a two level higher scale, so I didn't complain too much, plus accommodation and $100 a day to live on.

When I was coming to the end of the contract I had a bit of money saved and wanting to be spent on cars. At the time I had my ZG Fairlane, the 240Z race car and a XD ute to tow the car with, so I really needed a another one. Feeling nostalgic as I had previously owned a Charger for 12 months, I wanted another one.

I am slightly broken in that for some reason I like old Valiants, previously owning a late VH XL Charger that had the 245 replaced with a 2 barrrel 265 at some time in its life, a VE with the 160HP "leaning tower of power" 225 slant six, and the only car I have ever made money on, a VC with 225.