Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

2Y Toyota Engine what 5sp gearbox will fit?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

SD 2Y Toyota Engine what 5sp gearbox will fit?

Hi Brains Trust - apologies if this has been asked and answered I'm a newbie.
    I have just bought an '89 Hilux - one owner vehicle from a 90yo man (ex-cop) who really looked after it. I'm happy with it, but I get it on the highway and it revs so hard to get it to 100km/h I'd like to put a 5sp gearbox in it. Can anyone tell me what gearbox I should be looking for in the wreckers yards? The current 4speed according to the VIN plate is L40 G252 if that helps.
    Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by Sharmo; 06-07-21, 01:21 PM.

probably not much help but my auto hilux has a 4Y engine, I have no idea what revs it is actually doing on the highway at 110 but it seems to love it and is hence fine.

Maybe the auto diffs have a taller ratio? could be simpler to swap out but i'd say hilux diffs are still in high demand.

Comment

L50s will be a swap in, but they are fairly rare.
      W50 will also fit both tailshaft, input, and bell housing but may need some minor fabrication to get the crossmember and column linkages to work.
      Chris
      ------
      The MX5 Noujet (its up market) | The Hilux Complete Nugget
      I never saw a wild thing sorry for itself. A small bird will drop frozen dead from a bough without ever having felt sorry for itself. - D.H.Lawrence

Comment

Also paging Andrew Bolt who can probably remember more details.
        Chris
        ------
        I never saw a wild thing sorry for itself. A small bird will drop frozen dead from a bough without ever having felt sorry for itself. - D.H.Lawrence

Comment

I'd almost guarantee fitting a 5 speed is a total WOFTAM, the 2Y likely has to rev that high to reach the required output to move a Hilux at that speed, a taller gear will likely achieve nothing because the engine hasn't the grunt to drive it.