LS based V4 engine shenanigans

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

LS based V4 engine shenanigans

So, I'm a teacher now. I have students that will get bored if I don't get silly with things in class every now and then, and we're a machine shop class. Most of my students *wanted* to get into automotive repair class, but it was full, and I was the second choice.

One of my students threw down the gauntlet and said I couldn't build a V4 from an LS engine. I told them it was totally doable, as the AFM/DOD system does it in the car already. That wasn't good enough. To make matters worse, the auto shop teacher was walking by the open shop door and overheard, and he chirped up and said he bets I could do it. So I've got his backing for some parts and a run-in stand to work on.

The cutting and welding of the block won't be a problem. I've got a stack of busted blocks that was offered by the auto shop class, but most are broken in ways that make them difficult to use for this. I have two more blocks that I need to drive an hour and pick up, one is a 6.0L LS2 block that has had #8 liner bored completely out to be replaced due to a broken rod that tore it up, and one is a 5.7L LS6 block that also had a broken rod, but I don't know where in the block or how bad the damage is. Both are freebies, so I'll go get them anyway.

The block has been done before but I don't think anyone has made it run, and I don't think the heads were ever finished, just stuck together for a talking piece. I could be wrong, but I haven't seen one running yet. Good news, though, as GM sponsors the auto shop class and we have plenty of aluminum crate LS engines upstairs in the mezzanine, I'm sure a student will fuck one up this year and so I essentially have unlimited attempts if I keep going long enough. Plenty of trick parts, including a broken LS9 engine block, but it's busted out the back of the block right above the rear main as well as the entire rear cylinder pair.