Collapse
X
Collapse

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Wastegate spring vs boost

I'm fairly new to the turbo scene. When i built my barra turbo a few people suggested i go to a 14psi wastegate spring in my turbosmart internal wastegate. I also went to a manual turbosmart boost tee.

I understand the upgraded spring is to stop the internal gate blowing open. However. How do guys get almost double the psi?

Say 7psi spring and 15psi at engine, or 14psi and 25-28psi. Without using co2 assistance to hold the gate steady
    Originally posted by 50RTD
    Dave, have you uploaded the data from the carby?

Loose rule is spring should be half the pressure you want to run, but many variables obviously

Means well but is skittled

Comment

External gate is like a poppet style, so pressure on the other side is reasonably irrelevant, on a flap style internal be pretty much the same deal?

I've got a 16psi spring in my gate, and regulating it to 33 is no probs

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
      This is a post i wrote by mistake, which is nice...

Comment

I understand a dual port or external gate is different.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

Comment

The taxi currently runs one spring in the internal wastegate and makes just over 16psi. I've got two more springs to put in it (it originally came with three in it, but we removed two)

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Comment

Originally posted by GSRman View Post
            External gate is like a poppet style, so pressure on the other side is reasonably irrelevant, on a flap style internal be pretty much the same deal?
            Internal flapper gates I have seen are arranged so pre-turbine exhaust pressure will force it open, not closed. NFI about externals.

Comment

Originally posted by Roadsailing View Post
              Internal flapper gates I have seen are arranged so pre-turbine exhaust pressure will force it open, not closed. NFI about externals.